What is your vision of health?

After a long period of less-than-optimal health, I am moving forward on my healing journey. No longer content to be just a survivor, I am making a shift “from surviving to thriving.”(1) I am envisioning health.

To envision means “to form a mental picture of something, typically something that may occur or be possible in the future.”(2) What would it feel like to be as healthy as possible?

What would it take to be as vital and vibrant as desired?

Dr. James S. “Jim” Gordon, founder of the Center for Mind-Body Medicine, “regards self-care — particularly through self-awareness, relaxation, meditation, nutrition and exercise — as the true ‘primary care.’”(3) Stay tuned for more on self-care; I’ll be blogging about it again soon.

What comes to mind when you envision health? What help do you need to thrive?

References
1. HealingJourneys.org
2. Merriam-Webster online dictionary
3. Gordon, J.S. (2009). Manifesto for a new medicine: Your guide to healing partnerships and the wise use of alternative therapies (p. 17). Reading, MA: Perseus Books.

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What is your vision of health?

  1. Lynn Davis says:

    My vision of health is about feeling calm, balanced and stress free. Often work can take over my life and causes this stress. I am lucky to be very healthy physically so focusing on these external forces will help to bring this vision to reality.

  2. Lisa says:

    “Self-care is the new health care!”

    I love it–envisioning thriving is such a big part of the process. I think we all need tools and reminders for this…looking forward to reading more of your insights 🙂

  3. marsha joyce says:

    The greatest gift in life is my good health.
    May I be conscious with every choice I make to support me on
    my path of Wellness in Body, Mind and Spirit.
    We all Can and must do this.
    Let us See it and Be it.

  4. Wow, Marsha. Beautifully put. Holistic health is all about wholeness of body, mind, and spirit. More to follow.

Leave a Reply

