Spring Cleaning: Clearing the Clutter and Getting Unstuck

To hold an image of optimal health in my mind’s eye, I need a clear mind. My mind is clearest when I am centered. For me, this means being grounded in my body (breathe!) and in touch with spirit. If I can’t be outdoors in the sunshine, I need a clean, calm, restful space indoors.Enter spring cleaning. (Gulp!)As I confessed to my husband, Bruce, on our second date, one of my biggest flaws is my lack of housekeeping skills. I detest, despise and abhor most forms of housework. And, yet, I love a neat and tidy, clean and clutter-free home. Thankfully, I have help with the major tasks – Bruce (God bless him) does the dishes and Gabriela (our angel of mercy) does the heavy lifting (bathrooms, kitchen, etc.). When it comes to my office – my multifunction arts & crafts, computer and meditation space – I am on my own. Every now and then, when I can’t take it anymore, I have no choice but to clean up the mess I have made. NOW is one of those times.

Clutter is a stressor. It simmers on the back burner, threatening to bubble over. It’s a distraction that keeps me from being fully present. It clouds my mood. When my office is out of control, as it is now, I stop spending time there. I get stuck… Inertia settles in.

The antidote? Get moving. Take a walk. Go to the gym. Dance to the music. Just 10 or 15 minutes of shaking things up is surprisingly energizing. Check out the dance workouts on Netflix or from your local library. I tried one this morning, and ending up smiling myself silly – and much more ready to face the music.

80-degree days are coming, and I want to spend them outside. Hon, where’s the broom?

Please comment on this post. When do you get stuck? How do you break free from “stuckness” (inertia)?

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Cleaning: Clearing the Clutter and Getting Unstuck

  1. Susan, I am the same way! (I’m beginning to think you and I have very similiar brains). When I’m feeling overwhelmed, I feel like I can’t get anything done until my area (desk) is clean…but I hate actually cleaning it. So I will do all of those things you mentioned to avoid it. In the end, loud music and headphones get me going.

  2. Agreed; kindred spirits. Thanks for the tip. I will turn up the volume. 🙂

  3. marsha joyce says:

    I think about how Great it feels to have the mission accomplished!!!!
    I also try to clean up as I go along, then I don’t have
    to come back to complete the project. and I love to have
    space to work and if there is to much clutter I can’t function
    as well.

  4. Thanks for the suggestions, Marsha. I will try cleaning up at the end of the day (like I used to do in the corporate world).

Leave a Reply

