Lower Stress in Less Than 30 Minutes: Create a Collage

My office is clean. I can see the floor. The work surface is no longer buried under piles of paper, books, photographs and who-knows-what. I had forgotten what a nice room it is… and how much space I have.

I’m feeling spacious. Now that the clutter has been cleared, I feel less constricted. My stress level has dropped several notches. I can breathe more freely. All around me are collages – vision boards – that remind me of where I want to go, what I want to do. Now I can see them again.

Vision board from magazine images

Making a collage is a fun and easy way to tap into your right brain – the realm of intuition, emotions, creativity, symbols and connection. Stepping out of the logical left brain and into the right enables us to activate the relaxation response – the antidote to stress. Why not give it a try?

Creating Your Own Collage

Collage with personal photos added

You don’t have to be an artist to create a collage; all you need are some old magazines, scissors, a glue stick and a piece of paper. Flip through the magazines and tear out words and photos that catch your attention. Don’t think too much or analyze why you like the image. Let your intuition (or your gut, if you prefer) be your guide. After 15 minutes, stop tearing and start pasting. Assemble your collage in any way that is pleasing to you. There is no wrong way to do this.

When you’ve finished, step back and admire your artwork. What was the experience like for you? How do you feel? Did you learn anything new about yourself? Leave a reply below. Enjoy your weekend!

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lower Stress in Less Than 30 Minutes: Create a Collage

  1. Lisa says:

    What a great idea! Now if only I can get myself to do it without worrying about the time I’m spending not getting my work done… 🙂
    Off to buy a glue stick!

Leave a Reply

