What’s on your plate? (If dieting makes you fat, what’s a gal or guy to do?)

Here’s a typical lunch at my house:

To reduce inflammation and feel great, eat like a hunter-gather.

With summer’s bounty of fresh fruits and vegetables readily available, it’s a good time to consider eating more live a caveman or -woman. Popularized by The Paleo Diet, competitive athletes and mere mortals like me have found eating the diet of our hunter-gatherer ancestors to be what works best for them. It’s a whole foods program with high protein, high fiber and a low glycemic load (low-sugar foods). When I stray from this dietary approach, I find my energy lagging and my waistline expanding.

What’s involved? The ground rules are to consume:

  • Lean meats (preferably grass-fed), fish and seafood (wild-caught)
  • Fresh fruits and non-starchy vegetables – twice as many veggies as fruit
  • Eggs and nuts & seeds – in moderation
  • No cereals (no grains); no legumes (no beans, peas, peanuts); no dairy products (no milk, butter, cheese, etc.)
  • No processed food (nothing that comes in a box)
  • Plenty of good quality (filtered or bottled) water – 6-8 glasses per day 
  • No caffeine or alcohol – except for special occasions or on weekends

If this sounds too challenging to tackle all at once, make one or two simple changes each week. For example, substitute naturally sparkling mineral water (such as S. Pellegrino) and a slice of lemon or lime for sweetened beverages.

Leave a comment and let me know how it goes. Bon appetit!

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s on your plate? (If dieting makes you fat, what’s a gal or guy to do?)

  1. robin rome says:

    I’d have a problem with he elimination of wine and caffeine. But those never make me gain weight. I’d be a wine-loving cavewoman.

  2. If I swam as often as you, I wouldn’t gain weight either. For me, it helps to remember the 80-20 rule. Follow the program 80% of the time; celebrate 20%. 🙂

Leave a Reply

