For the love of gardening: Weeding as meditation

The sun is shining and the sweet scent of star jasmine wafts through the window. My garden is calling me to come out and play. “Weed me,” it whispers. For the moment, I am stuck inside at the computer.

I inherited my love of gardening from my mother. She says she was a pioneer woman in a previous life. When I was young, she rototilled and built stone walls. I remember the delicious vegetables we ate for supper, picked moments before from the garden in the backyard.

Like my mom, I enjoy working in the dirt. This is my kind of exercise, sweating and all. I feel a deep satisfaction when I use my pickaxe and spade to dig holes and plant baby plants. However, until recently, I was none too fond of weeding. Gradually, I’ve changed my mind.

I’m learning to embrace weeding as a form of meditation. I take a bucket, squat down and pull weeds until the bucket is full. It’s my time – time away from my other responsibilities. It’s time to just be. It’s an opportunity to connect with the earth, to breathe, to think. It’s creative time. If only I could look at washing dishes or vacuuming as a form of meditation… On second thought, I’d better not; I wouldn’t want to give my husband a heart attack.

What about you?
Do you, like me, enjoy moving meditation? Or do you prefer sitting quietly and focusing on your breath?  What is your practice?

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

