Celebrating Sisters

One of my sisters is having a significant birthday this week. (Yes, 39 again.) We are gathering to celebrate. Hot tubs, massages and champagne will be involved. I am so looking forward to the “girlfriend time” together.

My sisters -- "the redheads" -- and me (Greenwich, CT)

A wise woman once said, “Sisters are there, no matter how much time and how many miles are between you.” That’s certainly true for me. When I had the first of several surgeries a few years ago, one sister and her husband kept me laughing through pre-op; I never had a chance to get nervous. The other sister and her husband are joining me in a charity swim; their presence will help me keep going – both through training and the big event. Both sisters are just a phone call away.

The latest generation of sisters -- my granddaughters (Alameda, CA)

When I watch my grandchildren together, I see the same closeness that I remember from my childhood.

Lately, I’ve become addicted – obsessed – with genealogy. There’s something about searching for clues and fitting together the pieces of the family puzzle that keeps me engaged. I like knowing who my sisters are across the generations.

Sisters from a bygone era -- my husband's grandmother (right) and 4 of her 5 sisters (St. Paul, MN)

So, what does this have to do with envisioning health? People who have strong social connections – family, friends, etc. – are happier and live longer.

How do you and your sisters (or friends) support each other to be healthy?

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrating Sisters

  1. Kaleo Ching says:

    Beautiful!
    We support each other by doing chi kung, art process, sharing dreams, enjoying conversations and eating together!
    mahalo for your lovely post!

  2. Thank you! Mahalo for sharing.

Leave a Reply

