Banishing the blues on a grey day: Time for a shot of color

Winter is coming, and with it more grey days. Sometimes, the morning fog stays all day, and drizzle turns to rain.

To keep my mood from turning grey, I have lots of choices. For example, I can: go to the gym, hunker down with a cup of tea and a good book, or infuse my world with some color. Yesterday, I chose color. I pulled out my stash of yarn and played. Ostensibly looking for a new project to begin, I immersed myself in a veritable rainbow of possibilities and let my mind wander. I felt like a kid in a candy shop. This was fun!

In my office/studio, yarn fills several wicker baskets and a couple of storage bins. Yarn spills over into other areas of the house, lurking under the dining table and creeping onto the couch near the TV. My favorite fibers are within arm’s reach of my desk. Here are skeins of baby alpaca, wool, and even a little hand-spun – organized by color. Some are souvenirs of vacations; others were purchased on outings to local yarn shops.

Since I finished two knitting projects while away, I need a new one — or three — to begin. I like having several creations in the works at any given time. That way, one always fits the bill. A simple scarf is great for knitting group, where conversation is center stage and knitting is the backdrop. More intricate designs are better for knitting solo, when I can give more attention to the instructions.

After pouring over patterns and consulting my friends, I settled on a quick & easy vest using 2 strands of bulky wool; it will go fast. This is as close to instant gratification as knitting gets.

I also chose a simple cardigan that will take a little longer to make; for this one, the yarn – a variegated wool-cashmere blend – will be the star.

What about you?

What do you do to banish the blues on a grey day? How do you infuse color and texture?

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banishing the blues on a grey day: Time for a shot of color

  1. Lynn says:

    Thank you for the food for thought. I get so engrossed in the day to day I forget the importance of having those projects that bring a bright rainbow when it is blue. Time to clean the garage and find my bright quilt project.

  2. Thanks, Lynn. I could write another whole piece on my fabric stash… I have a few bright quilt projects in my future. Although fall/winter is typically a time for feathering one’s nest, I need to shift gears and move into “spring cleaning” mode.

Leave a Reply

