Heaven in a Bowl

Café Gratitude's Grateful Bowl

Café Gratitude serves Grateful Bowls. Whole Foods Market offers “honest-to-goodness” Wellness Bowls. I make my own meal-in-a-bowl concoctions, turning everyday leftovers into exotic creations. On a good day, they are Heavenly Bowls.

What goes into one of my bowls? Something starchy, something savory, and something green. This winter, they featured a lot of roasted winter squash, caramelized onions, and kale. Last week, I ate bowls of leftover Sephardic-style pot roast over Moroccan-spiced quinoa and as much fresh spinach as my bowl would hold.  Based on Jim Cohen’s brisket recipe, the grass-fed beef chuck roast was the perfect balance of heat and sweet – the “X factor,” as grilling master, Jamie Purviance, would say. The flavors in my bowl combined to create a little piece of heaven.

Last night, when I was supposed to be studying, I turned the kitchen inside out looking for something to make for dinner. I found: 1 spaghetti squash; 1 can tomato sauce; 1 can low-sodium V8; 2 Tbsp tomato paste (frozen); sun-dried tomatoes in oil; ¼ onion; crushed garlic; dried pizza spices; 2 handfuls of cherry tomatoes; ½ Cup red wine; a bag of organic arugula. And, for the pièce de résistance, I rescued about ½ lb of Chile Colorado – homemade with grass-fed beef and New Mexican chiles – from the freezer. I sliced the squash in half and roasted it in a 375-degree oven. Meanwhile, I made a sauce with the various tomato products, red wine, and seasonings. I thawed the beef, chopped it, and added it to the sauce, letting everything simmer. When the squash was done (30 minutes), I pulled it into noodle-like strings with a fork, smothered it in sauce, and stirred in 2 big handfuls of arugula. No gluten, no dairy. A little spice. A lot of love. Heaven in a bowl.

What's in your bowl? Here's what's in mine.

What’s in your bowl? Let me know what you like to combine for a tasty, satisfying meal-in-a-bowl.

About Susan MacLaughlin

A health & wellness coach and workshop leader, Susan empowers people to take charge of their health.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heaven in a Bowl

  1. Carol Strandberg says:

    Like you, I’ve been trying to follow Dr. Fuhrman’s Eat to Live instructions to eat healthier and maybe lose some weight. As a Buddhist, I’m also avoiding meat and fish but the hardest food to give up has been dairy. I LOVE cheese! I’ve come up with a great stew based on your cousin Darcy’s Persian recipe for eggplant and leeks cooked in Spicy V8 juice. Here it is: Peel, slice and salt eggplant, letting it rest for 20-30 minutes. Meanwhile, discard dark green portion of 2 leeks, split lengthwise, wash thoroughly and slice pale green portions. Rinse salt from eggplant slices, pat dry and cut into quarters. Heat 2T oil in large Dutch oven type pot and saute eggplant slices until fairly soft. Add leeks and saute about 5 minutes. Add a 48oz. bottle Spicy V8, a 15oz. can black beans, a 15 oz. can of dark red kidney beans, and a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes. Mix well and simmer for an hour. Add a 15 oz. can of coconut milk; stir and cook another hour or so. About 20 minutes before eating, mix in large handfuls of washed kale with the spines cut out. This is delicious as well as nutritious, so give it a try and let me know what you think.
    Much love from your aunt in Florida!

    • Thanks for the comments and the recipe, Carol! I look forward to trying this stew. I have been off dairy for more than 2 years. I don’t miss the cheese; but, occasionally I long for butter. Bruce and I still eat some animal protein, but we keep it free-range, grass-fed, or wild-caught.

  2. Young says:

    I like the way you cast a fresh eye over things in the fridge. It’s so easy to cook on auto-pilot – but I feel inspired to try something different tonight! Cheers,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

